Blogging

Since I started blogging two years ago I have written 59 posts. Of them only 22 were in English and those were all related to Basie. Starting from today I will have to change those numbers drastically both to make my supervisor happy and to become comfortable expressing my ideas in English. Though many people can think that is an easy goal the interesting part is that as usual that is not the only think I must do. So the questions is “How to blog every day and have time for the other assignments?

As many other questions in life someone else have blog about it. The first related post I found was wrote by Tony Karrer. The post was easy to read though the ideas I liked most:

When I’m doing some research on a topic as part of a project, as I think through the problem, find solutions, etc., it is quite natural to blog these things. (…) I’m pretty sure that this has been a replacement that doesn’t cost me time and sometimes saves me a lot of time via great feedback.

were not new to me. In fact that the reason behind the 22 Basie’s post I wrote last year.

He also wrote two suggestions for starting out:

(…) start small and try to commit an hour a week to scanning – reading and writing about things in parts of the field that interest them.

the more powerful effect comes when you are assigned a research task and you use the blog as part of that task.

The first suggestion made me wandering if just an hour is enough time. Next time (tomorrow) I will check how many time cost me to write a post. I hope the amount will decrease with the time.

I followed a link on that post to one named “How to blog without the time sink”. There was a part:

DO NOT treat it like writing an article or report. That is, make blogging part of your ongoing processes for research, notetaking, and communication.

That suggested me that maybe my problem is not that it is difficult to me to write post. Maybe the problem is to blog about papers. That makes sense since when I read a paper I feel that I will have to read a lot more about the topic to be able to formulate interesting questions about it, just because the author probably did that before witting the paper.

I will close with her main suggestion and try to use them tomorrow:

  • Blog your initial brainstorming.
  • Blog your research & discovery.
  • Blog your interactions.

One response to this post.

  1. * Don’t be afraid to blog things that aren’t technical—talk about a good movie or restaurant, about how cold the Bahen Centre is (don’t worry, it will be sweltering in January), about how ridiculous English spelling is (or should I say, “Inglish speling”).

    * Use your blog to warm up in the morning. Come in, write something about what you did/saw/read/learned the day before, _then_ read email.

    Responder

Responder

