Saturday at the code sprint

Today the time went so quickly that I still want to continue what I was doing at the university. I went to UofT around 8:30 am and a couple of minutes later Greg arrived with several boxes of donuts (very tasty indeed).

The first thing we did was finish the tests we were writing the day before. After that the real work started (ie. display a pie chart section using the jQuery Visualize Plugin). Today I worked for the first time with javascript following a simple example to display a pie chart. I spent a lot off time debuging with firebug and finally with Blake’s help we discover why our code was not working.

We still have to create a new review request, write one post with all our ideas about the design of the dasboard and maybe include another type of section or more pie charts with other information. Right now I am setting up a working copy in my brother’s old laptop so probably I will no need to wait until tomorrow to publish the code on reviewboard.

Besides work, today I did some interesting things like eating sushi for the first time (among many other new dishes whose names I do not know). It was really fun to see Basie developers teaching me how to use chopsticks😀 .  Also, I had the opportunity to meet David Wolever and his wife in person.

So it was a wonderful day!

Responder

